East African Citizens

From USD 1,670 per person


Non Citizens

From USD 1,850 per person

Around the bay [of Zanzibar] the cannibal Aethiopians dwell, and from there toward the west are the Mountains of the Moon from which the lacks of the Nile snow water’-Ptolemy, greek astronomer and geographer.


Mountains of the Moon, is a mountain range of central Africa, often referred to as Mt. Rwenzori, located on the border between Uganda and the Democratic Republic of the Congo, with heights of up to 5,109 m (16,761 ft). The highest Rwenzoris are permanently snow-capped, and they, along with Kilimanjaro and Mount Kenya are the only such in Africa. The range is about 120 km long and 65 km  wide. It consists of six massifs separated by deep gorges: Mount Stanley (5,109 metres/16,750 feet), Mount Speke (4,890 metres/16,000 feet), Mount Baker (4,843 metres/15,900 feet), Mount Emin (4,798 metres/15,700 feet), Mount Gessi (4,715 metres/15,500 feet) and Mount Luigi di Savoia (4,627 metres/15,200 feet). Mount Stanley is the largest and has several subsidiary summits, with Margherita Peak being the highest point.
The region's glaciers, waterfalls and lakes make it one of Africa's most beautiful alpine areas. The park has many natural habitats of endangered species and a rich and unusual flora comprising, among other species, the giant heather.

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player